All good in Pagudpud

There’s a view of the sunset from the side of the bus where I was sitting, the sun was just about to expose its magical beauty when the rain started to pour down. It was a 2-hour bus ride from Laoag to Pagudpud, Ilocos Norte, situated at the tip of Luzon Island. It was raining heavily when we dropped off the bus. Worried if there’s news of a typhoon, I asked the local policemen who were standing in front of the market. They said there’s no typhoon and the rain during night time is normal in their place.  After a few minutes, the husband of my contact person arrived to pick us. Using his tricycle, he drove us to the place where we will be staying for the next days.  Compressed in that small tricycle, the heavy drops of rain managed to hit us and our backpacks. Soaking wet we arrived at our destination. The sky was dark and the breeze of the wind was strong with the rushing sound of the waves, they created a powerful rhythm. It was a rhythm so inviting that made us want to go to bed and rest our tired bodies.  We settled ourselves in the room and slept early for our next day’s adventure.

the view from the house where we stayed
Saud Beach
the rays of the morning sun at Blue Lagoon
Patapat Viaduct
The pretty windmills of Bangui
captured while riding the bus going to Laoag
A giant snail!
Kapurpurawan Rock Formation

sunset captured while at the lighthouse
Bojeador Lighthouse

Wanting to visit the spots where the scenes of the movie “Hihintayin Kita sa Langit” (I’ll wait for you in Heaven) were shot, we drove around before we left Pagudpud. Later did I realize that they were referring to a different movie and that “Hihintayin..” was shot in a different island (in Batanes).

During my quest to see the spots, one of the highlights of my adventure happened. I encountered 3 lovely ladies who were aged by time yet their spirits remain vibrant and young. The first lady was sitting on the bench just outside the door. I introduced myself in Tagalog because I don’t know how to speak Ilocano (the dialect in Ilocos). She answered in English and started asking me questions.   Then another lady appeared from inside the house to the door. She was speaking in Ilocano and did not try to speak in Tagalog, so the first woman became our translator as we converse.    A little later, a tricycle arrived with the 3rd lady. The new lady was cheerful and she smiled all the time, she even kissed my hand when I introduced my name.

I have high respect for elder people. They have been living in this world for decades before I arrived. They have witnessed and experienced events that I could only read in history books. They have wisdom that I could only aspire.  Talking to an elder person is a treasure, and  in Pagudpud, I met 3 elders that made my trip more meaningful.

It’s all good in Pagudpud indeed. The sights to enjoy  and the kind and hospitable people we encountered in this trip earned this destination as one of my favorite places in the country. If I have the chance to visit this place again, I will surely go.

The house in the 1994 movie "Saan Ka Man Naroroon"
the house used in the 1995 movie "Inagaw Mo Ang Lahat Sa Akin"
the 3 lovely ladies

4 thoughts on “All good in Pagudpud

    1. You mean the Kapurpurawan? I did and I enjoyed it much. Or are you referring to another rock? Abot Cave (with the hole at the center), we also went there.🙂 Thanks for stopping by.🙂

Leave a Reply

